Art Talk Pararupa at Rempah Resto

Dear Art Lovers,

This evening I was invited to an Art Talk “Pararupa” at Rempah Restaurant. Pararupa means “the artists”. I dont think it’s the correct Indonesian word, but I dont care. Hehehe…

The art talk discussed about how to increase the number of art museum in Indonesia. The line up speakers are Farah Wardani, the executive director of Indonesia Visual Art Archive (IVAA) and Rully Anwar, the director of Myseum Project. As like any other Indonesian off air event, this art talk also started late. I came 30 minutes late, but the talk had not started yet.

When they finally started it, the talk was opened by Rully Anwar  and continued by Farah Wardani. She started by explaining about IVAA and showing art museums abroad (USA, Netherlands, etc). She explicitly said that she was not the expert at museum, so she just wanted to share what she had. I was wondering why she was even invited if she wasnt expert at the topic.

After that, Q & A sessions. In this session, I got absolutely bored. Most of the people who asked questions or gave opinion really could not elaborate their mind systematically. They spoke, but without main idea. Abstract. I happened to find most of fine artist I met are like this. They lack of soft skill in public speaking. But, I have to admit, some of them create astonishing artworks.

The talk was finally over and we had iftar dinner. I think this is the most favorite part of the art talk. The food was delicious too… Hahaha…

I actually dont really care with the topic of the talk. However, I believe this is a good opportunity to meet fellow fine artists. This art talk is more like gathering than a talkshow. I can also meet some rich people, collectors, and  art gallery owner. Fellow fine artists should use this opportunity as best as they could to promote themselves and expand the network. I thank Mr. Ivan Hariyanto, who introduced me to many  important people this evening. I realized that I should create my art name card as soon as possible if I want to introduce myself professionally.
Well, that’s all.

Joned

About Joned Rahadian

I am Joned, 23 y/o. I am a fine artist. Joned ^_^

Posted on August 18, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment